Mexican Lollipop Shot

17 Nov

If you grew up in Southern California, the ice cream man and his drive-by jingles really take you back to the good ol’ days. On a hot day nothing hit the spot like a Big Stick, Cherry Bomb or Tweety Bird pop with bubble-gum eyeballs. Yum.

When I felt adventurous, I would drop $.25 on Mexican candy, not the horchata, jamaica, or tamarindo flavors. I prefered sandía [that means watermelon in Spanish, mis gringos]. That candy taught me a life lesson: if you can endure the spicy shit on the outside, you can enjoy the watermelon sweetness on the inside.

Nowadays when I feel nostalgic, I don’t have to chase an ice cream truck. I can just hit up my local dive bar for something more refreshing: the Mexican Lollipop shot.

It’s just like the candy, except better because you get drunk. Win-win situation.

A Mexican Lollipop is:

  • Jose Cuervo Silver Tequila
  • Watermelon Pucker
  • A drop of Tabasco Sauce

14 Responses to “Mexican Lollipop Shot”

  1. Dazey2 March 15, 2012 at 7:48 am #

    Oh, this actually looks pretty intriguing! Thanks for a new drink to try! I’m always looking for something different to try…

  2. Not Carrie Bradshaw March 15, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

    omg did we just become best friends?! i love mexican lollipops!

    • Ella March 16, 2012 at 1:25 am #

      Hahahahah yes!!

  3. Kelly O'Sullivan (HILWD) May 8, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

    I will add that drink to my summer list. :)

  4. kdemps1 May 9, 2012 at 4:23 pm #

    Reblogged this on I Love My Big Gay Son.

  5. LadyJsVoice May 10, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

    Well, well, well I always love a new drink recipe but I have to admit you lost me at Tabasco Sauce….I’m a punk. Nothing spicy for me. :)

  6. Kenan June 29, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

    Hello. I was wondering how you make it. How much stuff do you use in one drink? Thanks.

  7. John July 19, 2012 at 10:53 am #

    Sounds tasty!!

  8. devontexas July 21, 2012 at 7:12 am #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and introducing me you yours… and I love the idea of the Lollipop! delish.

  9. samash August 24, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

    what ratio of ingredients. how much of each ingredient. we’re making it right and can’t make it taste quite right….

  10. reocochran January 22, 2013 at 3:29 am #

    You have a fun style and I appreciate your reading my posts. I will look forward to following your lead…

    • Ella January 22, 2013 at 6:29 pm #

      Thank you! have fun

  11. Eddie f December 23, 2013 at 10:53 pm #

    One of the best shots I ever had

    • Ella January 26, 2014 at 9:26 pm #

      The bestttt!!!!! too many may cause anal leakage

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,055 other followers

